The Founding Of The First Space Nation Today Doesn’t Really Mean Anything

I woke up this morning at 4, to listen in on the founding of an ‘independent space nation.’ I had to wonder if I was still dreaming as I sat in my dark living room, listening to scientist Igor Ashurbeyli explain in Russian how the plan would work, while his English translator muttered simultaneously, resulting in audio so garbled that large portions of the livestream were completely incomprehensible.

Asgardia might become a legit state, but don’t count on it

I woke up this morning at 4, to listen in on the founding of an ‘independent space nation.’ I had to wonder if I was still dreaming as I sat in my dark living room, listening to scientist Igor Ashurbeyli explain in Russian how the plan would work, while his English translator muttered simultaneously, resulting in audio so garbled that large portions of the livestream were completely incomprehensible.

Details are pretty scarce on what the actual plan is, except that whatever it is, it will be named Asgardia, after Norse mythology’s city in the sky, Asgard.

Ashurbeyli is chairman of UNESCO’s Science of Space committee, and founder of the Aerospace International Research Center (AIRC), which has invented Asgardia, the ‘first new space nation’ and ‘future member of the United Nations.’ But as of yet, the group appears to have no concrete plans to send anyone to space. It may try to launch a satellite in 2017 or 2018, but what that satellite’s function is, or how it’s getting to space, are equally nebulous.

Read More>>>